Game Six Rain Delay... '51 Yanks lead '98 Yanks 3-2 in Greatest All Time Yankee Team series

Coming later today:
Allie Reynolds v. Andy Pettitte
Rematch: Superchief v Andy!
World War III!

Thursday, March 31, 2016

Johnny Barbato wins the coveted 2016 James P. Dawson Award. Want to feel pain? Here are the last 12 winners

Last year: Slade Heathcott
2014: Masahiro Tanaka
2013: Vidal Nino
2012: David Phelps
2011: Manny Banuelos
2010: Jon Weber*
2009: Brett Gardner
2008: Shelley Duncan
2007: Kei Igawa
2006: Eric Duncan
2005: Andy Phillips
2004: Bubba Crosby

Twelve years, two meaningful Yankees.

Weber, in case you've forgotten, was a journeyman minor leaguer who signed to compete for the fifth OF spot. He led the Yaankees in spring training with a .483 batting average, but got clipped at the final cuts, in favor of Marcus Thames. He went to Scranton and disappeared.

1 comment:

Alphonso said...

This has to be an April Fool's joke. Johnny Barbato? Barbato?

" Now pitching for the Yankees, number 112, Johnny Barbato...... Number 112. "

Good friggin' luck.