Saturday, April 28, 2018

What Did Ma Boone Know and When Did He Know It?

It continues to amaze me how often the Yankees get screwed on calls in the video-replay era.

Stanton left early? Sez who? Not any replay I saw.

The question on that play was, what did Boone know, and what did he say?

Ma makes out that it was his bad: once he found out that the run counted, he "forgot" that he could have challenged the call at second base, too.

Did he really?

Was what we saw the doofus fumblings of a rookie manager—high possibility—or a sneaky pete piece of misdirection?

Did Boone realize that, if the whole play was reviewed, not only was Stanton going to be outrageously called out at second—c'mon, is there any replay in the world that can really discern the precise millisecond his foot left the bag as compared to the precise millisecond the ball hit Calhoun's glove?—then probably, yeah, someone was going to determine that Didi was not quite home yet?

Did Ma Boone save us a run, or cost a runner—and how intentional was it?

I can't vouch for intention. But I do think that, had that whole play been reviewed, we were in for another Royal Pineappling.


4 comments:

13bit said...

"pineapple," as a verb, is pretty scary.

Rufus T. Firefly said...

The umpires, just like the Evil Sox Promotion Network, look for ways to screw the Yankees. Just another example.

...and I'm not sure the ball didn't glance off the scoreboard anyway.

Urban Farmer formerly known as DutchFan said...

According to the clubhouse report Suzyn delivered at 2.30am your time, Boone acknowledged that he made the mistake. He thought he didn't have enough time to appeal, which was not the case.
The run scored because Didi passed home plate before Stanton was doubled up.

Basic .

HoraceClarke66 said...

BUT, according to the YES replay, anyway, DID was NOT home before Stanton was doubled up.

A thorough review would have probably led to the umps negating the run, too, meaning we lose the game.