John Sterling must manage a game: Sign our Online Petition

Wednesday, April 16, 2008

So LaTroy Hawkins caves in, will one-up Paul O'Neill

LaTroy Hawkins has decided to tear the No. 21 off his jersey and have the equipment nanny sew on a No. 22.

Well that's fine and dandy, unless one of your favorite Yankees appears on this list of saints who wore the fabled No. 22!
Fans of Vito Tamulis, Marius Russo or Ron Klimkowski (Ron Klimkowski! The Yankee Klimmer, for cryin' out loud!) -- you should be royally pissed.

How dare Hawkins slip into the more comfortable number once worn by ...

Jack Aker ( 1969-72), Ivy Andrews (1931), Joe Beggs (1938), Gary Blaylock (1959), Johnny Broaca (1934), Jim Bronstad (1959),

Bobby Brown (1979), Homer Bush (1998), Robinson Cano (2005-06), Roger Clemens (1999 -03, 2007), Rip Coleman (1955), Russ Derry (1944), Bill Drescher (1944), Doc Farrell (1932-33), Mike Fischlin (1986),

Lefty Gomez (1930), Tommy Henrich (1937), Darrell Johnson (1958), Roy Johnson (1937), Ruppert Jones (1980), Scott Kamieniecki (1992), Jimmy Key (1993-96), Ron Klimkowski (1972), Hal Lanier (1973),

Lyn Lary (1934), Jon Lieber (2004), Jim Mason (1974), Jim Mason Mason-->(1975)-76), Mickey McDermott (1956), Stump Merrill (1991), Omar Moreno (1983-85), Hal Morris Morris (1989), Jerry Mumphrey (1981-83), Gil Patterson (1977), Luis Polonia (1989-90, 97),

Allie Reynolds (1947-54), Gene Robertson (1929), Red Ruffing (1945-46), Marius Russo (1939-43), Bob Seeds (1936), Bill Stafford (1960-65), Fred Talbot (1966-69), Fred Talbot (1967-69), Vito Tamulis (1934-35), Tony Tarasco (1999), Paul Waner (1945), Gary Ward (1987-89), Mark Whiten ( 1997),


Mike Witt (1990)

(Tip of the cap to YankeeNumbers.com)

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Fer Chrissakes,

When you take Ron Klimkowski's number, you're also pissing on Elston Howard, because we got Klimmer in the Ellie trade.

Screamin' LaToya Hawkins ought to see if they can issue him a letter.